Kyoto University

Official website:

Kyoto University

Kyoto Imperial University was founded by imperial ordinance on 18 June 1897, the second university to be established in Japan.

In recent years, Kyoto University increasingly emphasized graduate-level activities, and has established new graduate schools to tackle emerging problems anticipated to be critical in this century: the Graduate Schools of Human and Environmental Studies, Energy Science, Asian and African Area Studies, Informatics, Biostudies, and Global Environmental Studies. Kyoto University currently has fifteen graduate schools, and traditional academic domains are being reorganized into new disciplines to meet the needs of the coming age. As of 2017, Kyoto University has ten Faculties, eighteen Graduate Schools, thirteen Research Institutes, and twenty-two Research and Educational Centers.


About / History -

Posted in Universities in Japan, University on Feb 03, 2020